freedomsmusings:

nextlifeout:

toastyslayingbutter:

gohoneycocolove:

What Really Happened in the Congo: Belgium’s ‘Heart of Darkness’

Leopold famously said when he was forced to hand over the Congo Free State to the Belgian nation: “I will give them my Congo but they have no right to know what I have done there,” and proceeded to burn archives.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/belgium-confronts-its-heart-of-darkness-6151923.html

Did y’all know about this?

There were also the “concentration” read: death camps, and the people of Congo being forced into the dessert without food and water to die. Disgusting.

My introduction to this was randomly reading King Leopold’s
Ghost years ago. He was one of the biggest and most evil tyrants I’ve ever heard of and the words and these photos will forever haunt me.

I’m haunted forever.

Belgian Atrocities in the Congo.

Leave a Reply

